top of page

Buy My Shit

It's been a very emotional week. I've been moving out of the apartment -- that I love -- that has been my home for that past four years. It's bittersweet because I'm moving on to some exciting things (and a home that has central air), but I don't get to stare out at my amazing view anymore.

I spent most of last week thinking I could move all my stuff with just my legs, arms, and my Ford Taurus. What ended up happening was me being exhausted and crabby and still not done a week later.

The stuff I couldn't haul in my Taurus I tried to sell or give away. Turns out this is harder than it seems. Now I think stuff is going to start just going in the dumpster 'cause ain't nobody got time to wait around all day to sell their high heels for five dollars. Although I do still have the following items available if anybody wants them (I need them gone by Aug 1):

-A UV therapy/reading lamp

-A paper shredder

-A shitload of scrapbooking stuff

-A microwave

-Partylite stuff including a spiral wall hanging

Also, I have a couple friends coming over to help me move out the mattress, but if anyone else wants to help with the last few things. I will buy you a beer, or four.

At the end of last week, the Ex came over to help me take apart my shitty bedframe and haul out some other unwanted items. During this exchange I got to live out one of my fantasies (not THAT kind). I live in a 4th floor walkup so rather than try to haul out 20 different pieces of a queen-sized wooden bedframe, we threw it out the window. Those 20 pieces ended up being about 100 after that, but we still didn't have to carry 8 ft tall pieces of wood down four flights of stairs. Something neither of us would have been able to do easily considering we're both 5'6" or under.

I really wish I would have taken video or pictures of this stunt, but at the time I was just worried some of the wood would (ha) end up in the neighbor's yard. I did however take this picture of my cat Phoebe protesting the move by hiding under the mattress in the empty bedroom.

IMG_3488_edited.jpg

Don't worry too much about Phoebe or myself now. She's completely settled in and claimed a throne upon the king size bed at my friend's town home.

IMG_3495.JPG

Now my old apartment is empty and it's le sad.

IMG_3481.JPG
IMG_3504.jpg

But..my temporary home until I hit the road in the fall certainly has its perks (previously mentioned central air). I've always wanted a standing desk and the table in the kitchen is the perfect height. So I've made this my morning work space. In fact, I'm typing on it right now.

Standing Desk.jpg

Overall, I'm mostly relieved that this stage of the journey is almost complete and I can move on to focusing about hitting the road for the real adventure.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page