top of page

Thanksgiving and Drug Culture

And perhaps I have found the title for my autobiography.

This blog is horrendously late in world of blogging, but hopefully when Internet historians find this a few years down the road it will hold up better than Geocities or MySpace.

The week of Thanksgiving was a bit untraditional for me this year and marked only the second time in my life I've spent it away from family. The couple I'm staying with went to the east coast for the week, so while they were away the temporary roommates will play.

On Monday of Thanksgiving Week, we did one of the top things I've wanted to do since I moved to the L.A. area: going to a live taping of the podcast "Getting Doug with High." In this podcast, comedian Doug Benson brings on comedians, actors, and other entertainers to smoke from vaporizor bags on stage. The episode that night had Tommy Chong, Kassem G, Ron Fuches, Eddie Ifft, and Megan Neuringer as guests (and can be watched here). Everyone in the audience is encouraged to step out in the courtyard area at The Largo to smoke during the breaks.

Afterwards, Doug Benson (who I have an uber-crush on) hung out to talk, sign things, take pictures, and of course -- smoke. Nearly every person was lighting up in the courtyard and then sharing with Benson as he signed their items. I have no idea how the man stayed standing after smoking all that weed, but I'm guessing he has some practice at this.

The openness of the drug culture is a much different experience than I've ever had in the Midwest. Although I know it's basically legal, I still have this uncomfortableness in being so open with it. I guess now that I'm putting it on the Internet everyone is going to know huh?

It felt like a parrallell universe where everyone was blowing clouds proudly rather than shoving wet towels under the door and lightening incense. I was convinced someone was going to shut it down, but that time never came.

The Wednesday of Thanksgiving Week, we scored some free box seats to the Justin Timberlake concert at the Honda Center. While I wouldn't necessarily call myself a fan of Timberlake's music, I can appreciate his talent and I knew he would put on a big performance. He did not dissapoint. At one point the stage lifted up and moved across the entire center -- and I got this video of it.

On actually Thanksgiving Day -- we did nothing but sit around and watch movies. I loved it.

The Saturday after, we went on a dolphin and whale watching cruise -- something I never thought I would be doing over Thanksgiving Weekend. It was amazing to see dolphins jumping and seemingly playing with the boat. And the sunset out on the ocean --- tremendous.

After seeing our first school of dolphins, I turned to the roommate and said "Do you think that when dolphins jump into the air -- it's like us jumping into a swimming pool? Like it's a refreshing and fun recreational thing to do?"

To which she rightly responded, "How high are you right now?" Touche.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page