top of page

My First Airbnb Experience

Let's start way back at at the beginning -- I'm in an all ukulele band. We are awesome (check out our Facebook page Britches & Hose) and therefore were invited to play at the world's largest bacon festival in Iowa this year. I'm still hanging in California, but I knew I couldn't miss this gig. Plus, several of my friends from California were flying in to attend the Blue Ribbon Bacon Festival and I couldn't let them see my band without me in it!

I knew I would need a car for running around and I still had to move some of my stuff out of a friend's place -- so I decided to drive rather than fly. Because I'm trying to save up for a van, I was looking to cut corners as much as I could. One of the ways I decided I would cut costs is by trying to go cheap on my overnight stays. This lead to my first experience using Airbnb and Couchsurfing (which I'll talk about in another blog).

Friends, I am so stoked about Airbnb. For those not familar, Airbnb is a website that allows people to rent out parts of their home -- similar to a bed and breakfast. It's typically cheaper than a hotel, you usually get nice accomodations for your money, and you get to meet some natives to the area you're traveling. I stayed at two different Airbnb hosts in Flagstaff, AZ-- one on the way there and one on the way back -- and I loved both experiences.

On the way to Iowa, I stayed with a couple -- Jim and Jackie. Their place was beyond adorable. I wish I had more time to stay because Flagstaff is gorgeous and so was Jim and Jackie's place. The couple "upgraded" me to the private suite which had it's own little balcony and a sweet view of the mountains and sunset.

Flagstaff Airbnb 2.jpg

In the morning while Jim and I chatted over coffee, I revealed I was considering going to the Grand Canyon since it was so close. Turns out, Jim is a tour guide and he offered me up a insider secret about the best place to view the canyon. More on that later.

On my way back from Iowa, I stayed with a couple, Amanda and Josh, in Flagstaff. I had driven about 14 hours that day and conked out by 8:30 pm -- right after I arrived. But in the morning, I chatted with the couple over some tea. They had a beautiful home with puppies and musical instruments everywhere -- my kind of heaven.

After my experiences so far with Airbnb, I may never stay in a hotel again (ok don't quote me on that), but I certainly recommend giving it a shot.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page