top of page

Christmas in California

Let's just say, Christmas in California is a wee bit different than Iowa. I spent the actually holiday back in Iowa with my family -- which resulted in this B.A. group selfie.

Christmas Selfie .jpg

But I also experienced some of what a Christmas in Long Beach is like. For those that aren't familar with the weather -- it's pretty much sunny and 70s year round in Long Beach. It's always comfortable to be outside. For that reason it was the first time I ever actually enjoyed a Christmas Parade. It's a huge deal in Long Beach -- everyone turns out on 2nd St to watch -- and nobody loses a toe to frostbite.

Now, standing outside with only a light jacket in December was different enough for me, but it gets even better. Long Beach has a boat parade the weekend after the street parade where boats idle through the harbor -- lit up like floats. A new friend -- old friend of the couple we are staying with -- invited us out on his boat to watch the parade from the water. So I did what any sane Iowan would do -- I ate a pot candy and I boarded the boat.

I get sea sick pretty easy, but the candy must have stifled that because I felt awesome most of the parade. It was a surreal experience -- camped out on the back of this huge ocean-going vessle, watching lit up boats idle by, and meeting new people. It's certainly an experience I will never forget.

This sunset right before the parade didn't suck either.

Christmas boat parade sunset.jpg

After I spent some quality family time in Iowa, I flew back just in time to spend New Year's Eve weekend at "The River" -- which some of you may remember from my blog "A Different Side of California." The couple I'm staying with have a place on the Colorado River that serves as their vacation home. New Year's is a big holiday at The River so the roommate and I joined Ann and Kim and some of their friends out in the desert.

While out in the desert, I had lots of firsts! I had my first off-roading experience -- which turns out I'm awesome at -- and my first handgun experience -- not so awesome. There's certain places out in the desert where people go to shoot guns and Kim was gracious enough to teach me how to shot a handgun. Little did we know I would soon be bleeding afterwards! My second attempt at firing the handgun resulted in the shaft taking the top layer of skin off of my thumb. Opps! It was so quick that it didn't hurt at all. In fact, I didn't realize I had injured myself until I felt the blood running down my hand. I think I need some more practice.

Good news is, I look good in the ear protection.

shooting range selfie.jpg

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page