top of page

What It's Like to Move Cross-Country in Your Car

The trip out to Los Angeles was both thrilling and boring. I was excited to finally be making the trek, but damn that's a lot of driving!!

Day 1

I left at the buckcrack of dawn -- in a downpour. That was really fun to load the final stuff and the cat in, but we made it out ok. The monsoon stopped around Omaha and from there the drive was pretty boring.

I made it to Denver in one piece and with plenty of time to do some recreational shopping. It is very weird to be able to walk into a store, walk up to a counter, and order marijuana. The particular dispensary I stopped into had a counter that had big glass displays -- like you would see in a bakery. I felt like a little kid in the 1950s walking into a candy store with wide eyes and no idea what to buy.

Even though I knew what I had just done was legal, I still had this fear of being caught after I left the store. They have vapor pens now that have THC oil so I was able to discreetly consume my legal purchase in the Denver hotel room. Needless to say, I loved Colorado.

Day 2

Time to hit the mountains. This was my favorite part of the drive, even though it was really tiring. The views were beautiful and the twists and turns helped keep me awake. I was worried little Craberton would hate the mountains, but she actually did quite well.

I ran into a lot of construction, but it's hard to be mad about it when this is your view.

Colorado I-70_edited.jpg

Because of the construction, what would have been a 10 hour drive turned into 12. That last stretch in Utah was ROUGH. Crabby Patty wouldn't use the litter box in the car so she was uncomfortable by the time we finally got to the hotel in Utah. While I was checking in, she starting throwing a fit in the bag. I could tell the attendant was terrified when she said "She can't get out of that can she?"

Day 3

Finally cross into California!! Yay!!

And this where things go awry. I knew I was having too much good luck on the first two days.

A few hours into the trip, Craberton is more agitated than usual. I really can't blame her, she's been riding shotgun in only a kitty sized spot amidst all my junk for two days.

Crabby travel.jpg

She starts biting everything she can get her mouth on. The bag of chips. The bag next to her. My cup in the holder. Everything.

To calm her down, I put her in my lap. This had worked when she got antsy in Utah. Upon putting her in my lap, I notice the unmistakeable stench of cat pee. I think, "Surely, she can't have peed. We've only been in the car a few hours and she held it for 12 yesterday!"

I'm in the middle of the desert at this point, but I find a ghost town (literally that's what the road sign said) to pull over. While I'm filling up with gas, I investigate the pee situation. Yup, Princess Phoebe has pissed her catbag. And it's all over the front me of now too.

To add to the situation, I also really have to use the facilities too. The problem is, it's about 90 degrees with no shade to be found. I can't leave Pissy Bag alone in the car in that kind of situation. I contemplate bringing her in with me. I have a leash and a harness for her so I put those on. The minute I put her down on the parking lot -- she freaks. I realize there's no way I'm going to be able to take her in while she's this distressed so I load us back up in the car.

I seriously consider peeing myself since I'm already covered in urine.

I finally get to a small town. I pull over to see if there's some place I can pee that has shade. Since I could no longer keep Crabby in her wet catbag, she is now ping-ponging around the car and howling. I find a Taco Bell with a shaded corner and roll down the window about two inches. Phoebe sticks her head so far out the crack I'm worried she's going to pull one of those impossible cat manuevers where they fit into places you never thought they could.

I close the window. Jump out. Slam the door as quickly as I can and pray she doesn't cook while I'm taking a leak.

I know we're only a few hours out from LA at this point so I keep telling myself it'll be alright despite my concerns that my feline companion will cause us to wreck. Then my some stroke of something, Phoebe manages to get herself stuck amid the stuff in the backseat -- right outside LA city limits. I'm convinced this saved us from a fatal accident on the freeway.

My friend I'm staying with sent one of her employees to come meet me at the condo since she couldn't leave work. Not only do I show up reeking of cat piss and sweat, but the minute I open the door -- Phoebe goes full pyscho. I did have her on the leash at least, but this guy was terrified.

I'm so good at first impressions.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page